Sanitary Doesn’t Always Smell Good

By Andrea Freedman

Recently, when I ran out of all of my cleaning supplies at once and nothing I needed was on sale, curiosity got the better of me and I decided to try cleaning with good old-fashioned vinegar and water, especially since it is said to be better for the environment and costs less than it does to purchase all of the individual cleaning supplies I usually need.

I had only previously used vinegar in the kitchen, not as a cleaning product, but rather as a condiment or part of a garnish or salad dressing. While vinegar is great with things like French fries or fish and chips, I had always been skeptical about cleaning with it, especially since when I was growing up, my mom kept a spotlessly clean home and I was always used to walking into our house and immediately smelling cleaning products.

Still, I started imagining all the fun things I could buy with the money I would save by cleaning with vinegar, not to mention the space I would cut down on in my cupboard. Also, I figured if vinegar and water is good enough as to be used for feminine hygiene it certainly must be good enough to clean with.

I obviously used white vinegar for cleaning but laughed to myself that if I were to try balsamic or red wine vinegar for cleaning, I would be able to tell people that they could literally eat off my floor.

I must confess that I was not completely happy with the results. The mirrors and other glass surfaces were slightly streaky, the floor looked a little on the dull side and trying to give the bathtub a good scrub just wasn’t the same. Further, when I got home after going out later that afternoon, I did not get the same sense of satisfaction I usually do after devoting hours to cleaning and let’s face it, that’s part of the reason I do it in the first place.

When my husband walked in later and immediately had to go outside on the balcony (even though it was a freezing cold winter day) because of being assaulted by the smell of vinegar I knew it was time to rethink this experiment. After all, food and cooking smells are some of the odors I try to eliminate when I clean. Our place actually smelled better before I used the vinegar!

It just goes to show you: Even when you try to save money, everything comes with a price. When I clean in the future I may try one of the more environmentally friendly, less harsh cleaning supplies on the market, but I think I will save the vinegar for my salad dressing.♦

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2017

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on February 11, 2017, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Andrea,
    Great article, thanks. This just reaffirms that vinegar is for salad and / or fish and chips!
    😊

    Like

  2. Maybe your husband thought when he smelled the v.inegar, that he was, in fact, having fish and chips for dinner. Windex is still the best for cleaning mirrors. I sometimes use it on my broadloom to get rid of stains, and it smells alot better, I think. It was a good thought though. Better luck next time. GF

    Like

  3. Thanks Andrea, I always wondered if I should try cleaning with vinager and now I have my answer 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

