Time to Dust off and revamp for the New Year

By Andrea Freedman

With another year coming to a close, I can’t help but reflect on all the tragedy and hardship that went along with it. While I am not one to normally rush through life, this is one year I will not be sorry to say goodbye to! Never before has the term “out with old, in with the new” held so true for me.

I don’t usually like to write off an entire year and always try to find the positives instead. However, even I cannot turn a blind eye when it comes to how much sadness came my way in 2016. When a good friend said “Hang in there, this year is almost over”, it made me realize just how much I am looking forward to a fresh start when 2017 arrives.

It has never felt quite like I have been kicked in the butt as much as I have this past year, especially the second half of it. For the past seven months or so, every time I have tried to think positively and move forward, it seems as though I have had to face yet more sadness and I know I am not the only one. Others I know have had to say goodbye to parents or siblings, and the world as a whole has suffered the loss of an unusual number of musicians, artists and prominent sports figures.

Starting with the passing of my close friend back in June (who, by the way, would have said “Uhh, 2016 SUCKS!”), life has never gotten back to normal and sometimes felt as though every time I called anyone it was only to tell them more bad news.

When the other day an acquaintance commented “It’s nice to see you with a smile on your face” – which is usually the norm for me rather than the exception – I knew it was time for me to take back control of my generally happy, light-hearted personality.

Sometimes all we can do is take a deep breath, reboot and have faith that things can only get better. No matter how tough things get, if we look hard enough, we can all find something good about 2016, no matter how small that something is.

Personally, I am happy to say that I have made more progress with my writing career, have forged some new bonds and friendships this past year and have drawn strength from others who I know have gone through worse than I have; if they can forge on, I figure so can I.

Although I have been forced to face the possibility of my own mortality, I have also developed a greater appreciation for those who are still here and have made more of an effort to spend quality time with those who really matter most.

This New Years I will make only one resolution, that being to get back to my old self again.

I want to thank each and every one of you who have given me love, compassion and support in one way or another. Here’s wishing you and your families all peace, prosperity and happiness for the holiday season and the New Year. And when days are tough in the coming year, which some of them inevitably will be, if we all do as my grandmother always used to say and “keep smiling!” 2017 is sure to be a winner!☼

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2016

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on December 22, 2016, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. All the best to you for next year Andrea! So many people have had such a horrific time. Things can only get better 🙂

    Like

  2. Let’s hope the New Year brings all of us the health and happiness we so richly deserve. Life isn’t always a Bowl of Cherries, but your grandmother was a very wise woman who always saw the good in everything, and tried to enjoy her life to the fullest, no matter all the difficulties she suffered in her 91 years. She always put a smile on her face, and continued on to make others feel that there was always a siver lining, if you just looked inside your heart and saw it. We can all learn a lesson from a very wise woman. Here’s to a great 2017. Gloria Freedman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

