No Time for Part-time Job

By Andrea Freedman

Recently, I was offered a part-time job, three hours a day. The trouble was, the three hours were to take place every single day during the week from Monday to Friday; the same routine five days a week, which was one of the things I wanted to get away from when I started working as a freelancer.

I am not knocking all part-time jobs, but in my opinion, having a job five days a week amounts to a full-time job in disguise, except that the pay is not even a fraction of what I used to make when I really did work full-time and leaves very little room for life balance or in my case, writing.

Nevertheless, I was briefly tempted. After all, at least I would be making some extra, guaranteed money that would be paid bi-weekly even in between writing jobs. I experienced a momentary feeling of guilt, thinking that I was passing up a chance to contribute even a little bit more money to our household expenses. That was until I sat down and really thought about things logically.

When you are doing something right in the middle or later in the day, that is really the main part of the day and I find the rest of the time is spent in limbo either waiting or getting ready for work. I reminded myself that I am already working and just because I am enjoying what I am doing does not mean that it is still not work. Taking something else on five days a week wouldn’t give me enough time to do that.

Sure many of the writing jobs I do don’t pay that well, but they do pay, and the more I work, the more I earn. Since I love writing, having more of it to do is not really a chore. The only stress comes from the challenge of getting it all done on time and to produce quality work, even if some days I experience the dreaded writers’ block. If I took this so-called part time job, it would definitely get in the way of my writing career and it would not amount to much in the long run. In fact, it could actually be to my detriment financially and otherwise.

Something told me that this would be the wrong decision, mostly because it would be equivalent to copping out and putting my dreams aside. I have spent too much time and worked too hard to give it all up for something that could set me back and so I politely declined.

When I met with one of the publishers I work for the next day and he proceeded to tell me how much work I would have to do for him within only the next week, I knew for sure that I had made the right choice.

Taking the easy way out might sometimes seem like the right thing to do but it rarely is. Persevering to accomplish what really matters to you, however, is an investment in yourself. So, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to get back to work.♠

 

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2016

 

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on October 26, 2016, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I can understand your dilemma. I had to go back to work as financially, I needed the money. As a result, I’ve been unable to spend time writing!!
    Good on you for sticking to your guns. 😀

    Like

  2. That was a very good decision. You would have been occupied for the whole week, and your Writing would certainly have suffered. Stick to your guns. I know the expression “Money isn’t everything” although it really is when you have to make your expenses everyday, but following your dream is often more important in your life. Gloria.

    Like

  3. Well done for resisting. I’ve been tempted before now to get a part-time job. In each case, a new batch of work has come in that made me change my mind immediately. I know that if I had gone down that road, I would most likely not be writing now. Thankfully, for the least 14 months things have been going so well that it’s not even on the horizon.

    Like

  4. I soooo loved it! There is more to life than the almighty dollar!

    Like

Leave a Reply

