Hard to Keep Our Cool During Fridge Fiasco

By Andrea Freedman

When the shelf in our fridge that holds the condiments broke off, all I really wanted was to have that part replaced. As the broken piece did not render the fridge nonfunctional, imagine my surprise when I was informed by our property manager that we would be getting a whole new fridge anyway. Sound exciting? Well, believe it or not, in some ways it turned out to be more trouble than it was worth.

After waiting for weeks and cramming all the condiments that used to be on the side of the fridge temporarily onto the other shelves, I was told that the new fridge, which had been on order for at least a month had finally arrived and that it would be best if I were home on the day the superintendent planned to install it.

What I thought would be something very simple turned into one problem after another. First the new fridge would not fit through the kitchen doorway; that was until I reluctantly agreed to have the door removed altogether to make more space.

It was a beautiful fall day and I had intended to get the fridge switch-over out of the way quickly so I could get outside and enjoy the nice weather; little did I know what I was in for! After emptying the contents of the old fridge, throwing things out then putting everything back in the new fridge, I thought that was that and went on with my day.

A few hours later, I came home to an unusually loud noise. I quickly realized it was coming from the new fridge, and when I went into the kitchen, to my shock, I saw that the fridge was actually shaking! Panicking that it might explode in the middle of the night – and at the very least that the noise would make it impossible for my husband and I to sleep – I called my super to come back yet again.

At first it was suggested that he might have to bring the old fridge back (in other words, I would need to empty all the food out of the new fridge and put it back where it came from in the first place), only to go through this whole exercise again whenever the part came in that I was told would be needed to stop the terrible noise. In the meantime, the new, defective refrigerator would sit in our hallway anywhere from a few days to several weeks.

If any of you are renters, you know how long you often have to wait for repairs and other requests, so I was reluctant to have this eyesore taking up space in our apartment with no control over how long it would take before things were resolved.

At this point, I longed for my old fridge and almost wished I never would have reported the broken shelf in the first place.

Fortunately the super was able to come up with a temporary solution but while the noise has stopped for now, the irony is that the shelf in the freezer was part of what was causing the racket and has since been removed. So, it seems I gave up one shelf for another. Also, it turns out that the new fridge is actually not that practical. In fact, it seems like a custom made appliance for a Little Person. Although I am on the short side, even I am finding the shelves unusually low to the ground, so much so that I need to crouch down to get things. My husband, who is over six feet tall, is having even a more difficult time than I am.

Furthermore, the door on the new fridge doesn’t close as easily as the old one, and there have already been several occasions when I have accidentally left it open; on the bright side, when I heard another strange sound, I quickly realized that the new fridge also comes with an alarm which goes off when the door is left open.

When all is said and done, we are lucky that appliances are included in our rent and that we do not have to worry about replacing things ourselves and incurring the exorbitant costs that go along with it, but we are also at the building’s mercy when it comes to what we end up with and how long we have to wait to get it.

For the time being – mostly because I don’t want to go through the whole ordeal again – everything is back to normal and we are getting used to our new fridge. Still, the next time something breaks in our apartment, I might just keep it to myself.♦

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2016

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on October 10, 2016, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know exactly how you feel about repairs whenl living in a rental. We have been waiting for a window replacement in our kitchen, due to an accident by a foreman, that resulted in a loud sound and our window being broken and, as a result, we have been waiting for almost one month in darkness because there is a large board covering a nice, sunny, light in our kitchen..
    There is advantages in renting, but at what cost?
    I hope your new fridge continues to be in good working order from now on. Life is too short to be obsessing about things that can be replaced.

    Like

  2. Thankfully, I’ve never had to go through such chaos for something as minor as a broken bit of plastic from a fridge. What an absolute pain!

    Like

Leave a Reply

