Seal up the Mailbox!

Andrea Freedman

When I was a teenager, I had a brief job distributing flyers. I was paid about fifteen cents per flyer, which I happily accepted.

These days, as a considerably more mature adult, I find myself again in the position of sometimes giving out flyers, only this time for no fee at all. However, the flyers I now occasionally distribute are for my husband’s business, so of course I am happy to do it.

I have come across some interesting things on my travels throughout various neighbourhoods I have solicited.

Besides meeting a few interesting people and drumming up some potential future business, one of the most off-putting things I have discovered through distributing flyers is that some people actually take the time to make signs that read “NNNOOOO FLYERS PLEEEAAASSSE!”, which are adhered firmly to their mailboxes or slots. It makes me wonder why they choose to have mailboxes at all.

When I read a note that says “No JUNK Mail”, I am tempted to risk putting one of the flyers in the mailbox anyway; after all, I do not consider what is being advertised to be “junk”.

Ironically, it would take these people less time to dispose of unwanted mail than it does to put the energy it takes to create something of a flyer themselves. The disturbing thing is that anger can be felt in the size of the lettering of some home-owners’ notices.

These are often some of the same people who seem to purposely not clear the ice and snow from their driveways or front steps, almost as if to reiterate the fact that they do not want any uninvited visitors, specifically, people trying to solicit business.

Personally, I have actually used a few services that I discovered by reading a flyer that had been left in my mailbox. Nevertheless, funny enough, one afternoon after I got home from a long tiring afternoon of flyer distribution, I found myself momentarily irritated when I spotted a flyer in front of my own door. Then I stopped myself and laughed.

Granted it can be annoying to rifle through endless amounts of what some people refer to as junk mail, but it beats opening more bills. Browsing over a flyer costs nothing and the time it takes to throw it in the garbage or recycling bin afterward if it is not needed really is not worth fretting over.

Flyer distribution can be a thankless task, but I try not to let it discourage me. If I am successful in getting even one customer from the flyers it will be worth my efforts. I respect the wishes of those who expressly do not want to receive flyers and move on to the next, hopefully more inviting home.

If nothing else, it is yet another way to get a little extra exercise and fresh air. When I think of it that way, I am glad to deliver the flyers, even if other people think they are only worthy of being called “junk”.♦

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2014

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on December 22, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I must admit to the fact that sometimes the entire mailbox is filled with flyers, and that after briefly glancing through them, we usually throw away most of them. We sometimes save one or two if they look interesting. Most people just discard them without even a passing glance.
    I suppose for every hundred of flyers, one may hit the proper person who can avail himself of these services, so it isn’t a waste of time if you are successful part of the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

