Half Baked

Andrea Freedman

Do you ever notice that licking cake or brownie batter from a mixing bowl is almost as much fun as eating a freshly baked cookie?

As far as I am concerned, there is nothing like a fresh baked good straight out of the oven. There is also nothing quite as delectable as eating the leftover batter while eagerly waiting for the item to finish baking. While smelling the fragrance that only home baking can bring, the anticipation is easier to bear if you have a little extra indulgence to occupy yourself with in the meantime.

When I start out eating batter, I plan to take only a few spoonfuls. However, it is easy to get carried away. When my husband says, “You know you’re eating raw eggs?” I usually throw caution to the wind and don’t concern myself with things like that; I just think about how delicious all those blended ingredients taste together.

Whether you use a spoon, the spatula that spreads the icing, or your finger, the end result is equally as tasty. I have often jokingly commented that another positive side of eating the batter from the bowl is that before I know it, there is hardly anything left to clean.

I wonder how people who bake for a living can resist constantly sampling, not only their finished products, but the batter for each and every cake and pastry in between.

The only word of advice I have is to make sure you put most of your batter into your baking pan before you start eating it; otherwise, you just might find that you have nothing left to actually bake!

Luckily for me, the urge to bake does not hit me too often; when it does, usually enough time has gone by that I feel I can treat myself to some guilt-free batter.

Sure there are much healthier things to eat than cake batter, and I would not suggest that it be used as a regular snack choice; but once in a while, I think it is okay.

My next batch of brownies will be ready soon; I hope when they are, I am not too full from eating batter to try one.☺

 

 

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman, 2014

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you! It doesn’t take much to make you happy. I, myself, wouldn’t enjoy anything raw, but that’s me. I suppose there are a lot of people like yourself who love to eat the batter before it’s placed into the oven for baking. Enjoy!!

    Like

  2. sounds like you enjoy eating raw eggs! I, myself, wouldn’t attempt that, but I suppose there are many people who enjoy doing what you do and indulging themselves before the batter is made into any dilectible product there is. It doesn’t take much to make you happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

