Will it be Rain or Shine? Make up Your Mind!

Andrea Freedman

There are some days during the summer where no matter what my plans are for the day, there is bound to be someone who tells me that (a) it is going to rain; or (b) that it is a beautiful day and why aren’t I out there?

While we have had many sunny days, the temperatures have not been as consistently hot as we have enjoyed in previous summers. Many of the threats of rain never come, while other times, the weather can turn with only seconds to spare to duck inside for cover.

The sky darkens; just as the clouds come in so do my eyelids begin to close. If this happens at around four or five o’clock in the afternoon, in other words after I have had a chance to enjoy the rest of the day – that actually works out well for me as far as nap time goes.

I am not happy, however, when the minute I have begun to fall into a deep sleep, without warning, the sun comes out. While I doubt there are many people out there who appreciate a sunny day more than I do, I really wish the weather would just make up its mind. If I have geared my day around rain, believe it or not, I actually find it almost annoying when things completely change when the day is almost over. Crazy as it sounds, I then sometimes feel obligated to go outside, to be out there for every sunny moment of the summer.

Let’s face it; dinner time is not generally an ideal time for many of us to go for a leisurely swim. And although the sun is strong until the early evening hours, evening is not necessarily the time I feel like putting on a bathing suit.

I realize that those who are at work all day are just as happy to come outside and begin their evening in the sunshine. That’s great, and while I enjoy reading on my balcony in the evenings, I prefer to bask in the sunshine during the day.

When I was stuck in an office full-time, it was very frustrating to me when one summer, every single day I worked was nice outside, while it rained every weekend and day off.

In fact, I recall taking a week off and it raining every day of my vacation. When I got back to work, one of my colleagues seemed to take pleasure in teasing me about the bad weather I had had while I was on holiday. Needless to say, I did not see the humour.

This summer, I take each day as it comes. Some days it is cool, some days it’s hot, some days it rains.  There is no point in panicking about below seasonal temperatures. After all, that is not really what summer is about.

While I don’t recommend spending a beautiful day indoors watching television, I would not suggest that as a way to spend a day during any season of the year, but especially summer. That is not to say that if you need a nap (although this can arguably be done in the park), or if you just feel like finding some shade somewhere and keeping to yourself at home some days, that you are not entitled to do whatever you want.

This summer is a mixed bag, but it is still summer nonetheless. Rather than chasing every minute of sunshine, or feeling bad or guilty for possibly missing one precious moment of it, I plan to make the most of every day, no matter what the weather brings. As long as when I am just about to get cozy and watch a movie, the sun doesn’t decide to come out!☼

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2014

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on July 28, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Here in the UK, we’re in the middle of a heatwave that’s lasted about 10 days already and set to last at least another week. I’ve been getting outside when I can and spent most of Saturday reading in my garden.

    It’s also been too hot for me to go running which is a little frustrating but for the time being, I’m happy to take the trade off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

