No Coffee; no Way!

Andrea Freedman

There are some simple pleasures in life I would never even consider giving up. One of the things at the top of that list is my morning coffee. It is something that actually makes me look forward to getting out of bed. It starts the morning right and sets the tone for the rest of my day.

That time in the morning is one of the nicest parts of my day, especially if the sun is shining and the temperature is warm enough that I can sit on my balcony while drinking my coffee. On a cold or rainy morning, I sometimes drink coffee in bed while watching the morning news on TV.

A friend of mine once told me, “I don’t drink coffee when I’m on vacation.”  Personally, coffee is one of the last things I want to take a holiday from. I would not want to deprive myself of something I enjoy so much, especially when I’m on vacation.

I can understand someone wanting to give up something like smoking cigarettes but not coffee! It actually irritates me when I hear people tell me they are trying to give it up. (Hmm, I wonder if a little less caffeine would help to lessen my irritation.)

On mornings when I have had to wake up early, my husband has set up the coffee for me the night before, the timer set to brew just when my alarm is about to go off. On those days I literally wake up and smell the coffee.

I was attending university when I first acquired a taste, as well as a need, for coffee. Before that I didn’t even like it. I discovered that it was the only thing that helped me wake up, especially since I had to leave home ridiculously early to make it to school in time for my classes. From that time on, the most important things on my grocery list have been coffee, cream and sugar.

There is no point in me trying to do anything, talk to anyone or think straight until I have spent that time having my morning coffee. Without it I am not fully coherent. Even though I admit to having developed a dependency on coffee, I don’t think it is necessarily such a bad thing.

On the rare occasions when I have had to stay overnight at someone’s house, I find it unbearable if they don’t let me have that crucial few minutes in the morning to have a coffee, without talking my ear off or asking me to help out in some way. Worse still, is staying at someone’s house that does not drink coffee or have it in the house. I have learned to always pack an emergency jar of instant coffee. It is not my first choice but it’s better than nothing. If I am going to be staying at a hotel, I always check first to make sure there is a coffee-maker in the room.

It is clear that coffee is an important part of my daily routine. I don’t know what I would do without it, and I don’t plan on finding out any time soon. As long as it is readily available to me when I wake up, and I don’t have to do anything or talk to anyone before I have a chance to drink it, I will start my day with a smile on my face. And in case anyone’s asking, I’ll take a dark roast please.♦

 

 

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2014

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A girl after my own heart! The first cup in the morning, is the best one. It’s better than being addicted to other devices that are more harmful to your health. I’ll take coffee anyday

    Like

  2. Well done, Andrea.
    My wife was like that until she learned that coffee is not the best anti-inflammatory but that tea is better (we’re at that age where arthritis can be an issue). I like green tea but have to be off it nowadays as I am currently on coumadin with its various dietary do’s and don’ts.
    I just read an article in The Gazette where the Susan Schwartz quoted humorist Merrill Markoe who said that her best writing is before the morning coffee when her brain is just a bit fuzzy.
    Any coffee that I have, even decaf, after 12 noon will keep me up at night (I’m up anyway but it’s a different kind of ‘up’).
    Take care,Ron

    Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 03:02:28 +0000
    To: rlsilverman30@hotmail.ca

    Like

  3. I love coffee too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

