Is Your Oscar Acceptance Speech Ready?

Andrea Freedman

With the Oscars coming up this Sunday, it got me thinking about award shows past. Watching the Golden Globes, the Oscars or any of the other major award shows never fail to get me fantasizing about going to the Academy Awards myself as a nominee, complete with beautiful ornate dress and sparkling with diamonds.

The camera would show me, first on the red carpet, then nervously smiling in my seat when my name is called among the nominees in the writing category. When my name is called as the winner I hear applause in the background but wonder momentarily if it is really for me. My husband and family sitting with me excitedly urge me to get up and make my way to the stage.

Of course I worry about things like tripping on my way up or that the microphone will be way too high for me to reach and it will be really embarrassing when I try to give my acceptance speech and no one hears me, as well as how I will look on TV.

I wonder if I would get up there and hardly be able to speak. I can picture myself being overwhelmed first by nervousness at having to speak in front of such a large crowd and second by the emotion that I can only imagine comes with being recognized for winning an award of this magnitude.

Once I find my voice, I look into the camera and thank everyone watching at home and then offer the viewers at home some words of encouragement. After all, I tell them, if I could do it, anyone could.

I have a long list of people who gave me a chance when no one else would to thank and I want to make sure I get them all in before the music starts rudely playing to signal that my time is almost up. I hope I have not left anyone out; I am sure someone will say something afterward like “I thought you might have mentioned me specifically.”

Later, knowing myself as I do, I am sure that I would kick myself because there would be something else, just one more small important thing that I wished I would have remembered to include in my acceptance speech.

Whether it makes some of us who have hidden talents wish we would have tried harder to do something about it or whether it is because some of us actually aspire to one day, somehow, be up on the stage accepting an award ourselves, something about watching award shows can make some of us become a little emotional. For some it gives renewed hope that anything is possible and that it is never too late to realize upon one’s dreams. On occasions when I have gotten together with friends to watch an award show, I have sometimes felt self-conscious when I was caught in the act of crying during an acceptance speech.

Some of the winners never fail to choke me up, while I find others downright nauseating. I vow that if I ever do happen to have the chance to be up there myself I will do my best not to say anything that will make people roll their eyes or cringe.

For the longest time I kept my secret about my imagined Oscar acceptance speech to myself, believing people would think I was crazy or at the very least full of myself if they found out about it; then I discovered that I am not alone. There are indeed other people I know who have imagined the same thing as I have while watching the Academy Awards show.

Sure it might be a bit far-fetched to say that I or many others of us out there will ever be up for an Oscar, but perhaps one day we will be rewarded for our hard work in some other equally satisfying way. You never know.

I think I if I were ever lucky enough to get to the point where I was even considered for any award, let alone the Oscars, specifically for my writing, my biggest dream would have been achieved. That is not to say that I would not continue to strive for new goals in the future, but I would be content, knowing that I had accomplished the one thing that mattered most to me, especially if the description for one of the nominated movies boasted something like “Based on the novel by Andrea Freedman”.

This upcoming Sunday night, regardless of the fact that I have not even seen most of the nominated movies, I plan to be firmly planted on the couch, Kleenex within reach; let’s face it, it is not a question of if I will need it but when.

I guess I don’t have to worry about my acceptance speech for the time being but I still have it written in my head and ready to use at a moment’s notice – just in case.

Copyright © by Andrea Freedman 2014

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. In my fantasy, which I don’t really own but can get into inspired by your piece, I don’t go out of my way to thank anyone. This is not from lack of gratitude but because of the strong feelings I myself have when I watch the Oscars and grit my teeth watching people get on a public stage and get very personal thanking people only a few know.

    My favourite acceptance speeches have been from actors (directors, etc.), usually Brits, who get universal or poetic or ‘interesting’ regarding their lives or the movie they worked on.

    I’ll try to remember this when I walk to the stage, unworried about tripping on my gown at least, probably shaking with fear otherwise, and try to entertain the folks watching. (For those upset that they weren’t mentioned in the thank-you’s: “tough”.)

    Thanks,
    ron

    Like

  2. Well, you never know when this could happen to you, so you need to practice your acceptance speech so you’ll be prepared for anything. I always look forward to the Oscars, no matter whether we have seen the movies or not. The gowns alone are one of the reasons to spend 3 hours watching the results of great actors and actresses accepting their awards. No kleenex needed for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

