Posted on January 29, 2014, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I loved your comments about the name of Carolyn as I am also confused with Caroline. I do disagree with you about the way to pronounce Carolyn. Since there is only one L in the name it should be pronounced Caro-lyn. Not Carol-Lyn. That is saying 2 names.

    Like

  2. Another Caroline here–I get called “Carolyn” waaaay more often than “Caroline”, especially when first meeting people. I even get it in emails–I’ve just signed my name Caroline, and I get an email back addressed to Carolyn! There are people I’ve known for years who call me Carolyn; it’s too awkward to correct them now, and they apparently don’t notice others calling me Caroline. Must be something inherent about the name!

    Like

  3. Hi. My name is Caroline actually. Let me tell you I get called Carolyn all the time. My name gets misspelled to Carolyn a lot too. Every other Caroline I’ve met has the same problem. I get your frustration, but this happens just as often to people named Caroline. I hear my name mispronounced all the time at school, when meeting people, on tv and movies, and when I haven’t seen somebody in awhile they will call me Carolyn. It drives me nuts no one can say these two SIMPLE names correctly.

    Like

    • Hi Caroline; who would have thought that “Carolines” experience the same frustration! Thanks for sharing your side and I hope people start to finally pronounce your name correctly!

      Like

  4. AMEN. As a Carolyn, you have accurately described my entire life’s experience. I’m so exhausted at this point it that I often don’t even correct others anymore. GUGHGGGH!

    Like

  5. Good for you for mentioning this. How difficult is it to pronounce the name Carolyn? It’s a wonderful name and deserves a little effort on the part of everyone who knows her. It’s worth it. Not the most science rocket in the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

