One Year Later

Andrea Freedman

I woke up today and immediately remembered that it was exactly one year ago that I walked away from my office job, hoping never to look back. Since that day I have embraced my new life as a writer and although I have had many ups and downs, one year later, I still feel that I am doing the right thing (no pun intended).

The days have actually never flown by faster and I can hardly believe where this past year has gone. One year is not nearly as long as I once thought it was.

Although I have been writing for several years, I have finally had the time necessary to really focus on it and everything that goes along with it. I do not recall one day when I have been bored and I actually feel younger than I did last year at this time, even though I am about to celebrate another birthday.

I wake up and see what the day brings, the hope of it being a good writing day always at the forefront of my mind. My new routine consists of sleeping until whenever I wake up naturally, relaxing with my coffee and writing while still in my pyjamas, going to the gym when it is not busy, long walks and one of my favourites, afternoon naps.

I no longer deal with rush hour, I have taken up activities like yoga and tai chi and I notice a significant decrease in my stress level. I feel freer than I ever have. Without the care of adhering to a strict schedule, sometimes I actually have to ask what day it is.
People have remarked to me that it must feel strange not going to work. On the contrary, I tell them. I love every minute of it. I now have balance in my life.

I have connected with so many interesting people from the stay-at-home crowd who I may never have otherwise met. The people I see these days are from a different world than what I was used to in the past. Also, social media, something I never dreamed I would participate in, has put me in touch with other writers from all over the world.

At first I was a little insulted when I discovered that anyone had the nerve to “un-follow” me but just as I have had to become strong enough to handle rejection and to write what I want whether or not others always agree with my opinions, I have also come to accept that there are times when I will not be “liked” on the Internet.

This past fall I launched my website but I really did not get the hang of it until about December. I had my doubts that anyone would even see my blog, but as it turns out, it has actually gotten many more views than I ever imagined it would.

The past year has not been without its challenges. Some days I can hardly put my pen down, while on other days I get down on myself and I wonder what I am doing, why I am doing this and why I am working so hard for something that I often do not even get paid for.

Then there are the days when I get an idea that makes me excited about writing all over again and I am reminded that it is worth it. Each and every time something I write is published, it never fails to give me the same exhilarated feeling as the time before. All of a sudden I can feel life and enthusiasm filling me up again and I remember why I wanted to do this in the first place.

Today, one year later, I would like to express my gratitude, especially to my husband, who is making it possible for me to pursue my dream, and to everyone else who has supported me, followed me, encouraged me, helped to lift my spirits when I doubted myself and reminded me of how much I have actually accomplished in only one year.

It is amazing how quickly a year goes by, and how much a person can figure out about his or herself in such a short time. As much knowledge as I have gained about myself and what I would like my future to hold, I still have so much more to learn and of course, so much more to write.

I hope you will continue to follow my journey. I thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts on my posts and most of all for “liking” me.♥

About andfreed

I am a Toronto based writer of articles, columns, essays and novels.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Weekly Thoughts and Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re lucky. I am thinking of retiring next August. I have a place in the country but my pied-à-terre in Montreal, while beautiful and in a great part of the city bordering Outremont (I wrote a blog on this somewhere — last September probably) is a bit expensive for me for my meagre salary.

    If I do, I will be in a real remote part of Quebec, a small hamlet near Sutton, right by the Vermont side of the American border. It’s a bit too austere for me to actually contemplate retiring. I’m actually a city person.

    If I had a dog, and we’re considering getting (another) one, that will make it easier, but I think it would be best to find a part-time job there to keep me busy (my wife will be occupied in her studio for much of the week).

    But your get-up, with yoga classes, time on your hands, friends to hang out with (I imagine) — that sounds quite nice.

    Like

  2. Love this! Reading your articles brings a new view on life!

    Like

  3. Beutiful! Inspiring! Uplifting! Congratulations on achieving this milestone Andrea! You are trully an inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

